homophobia

Based on dictionary.com:

homophobia  (ˌhəʊməʊˈfəʊbɪə)
— n
intense hatred or fear of homosexuals or homosexuality

Three days ago, I was walking normally through a campus hall to go to my class when some guys were calling people to sign on this wide cloth. Later I knew that day was the international day against homophobia.

To be honest, I’m indifferent to homosexuality. I always tell my friends that I’m fine being friends with them as long as the lesbians or bisex don’t come to me to become a lover. Now that I read more things about them, I’m sure that they can “sniff” if you’re a straight person and furthermore they won’t bother you.

I have lived in a country where homosexuality is considered “sinful” and against God’s will for my whole life until I finally came to this more open country 3 months ago [Gosh! Time really flies fast.], where homosexuality is a normal thing and even many people are working to make it acceptable to more people. Salute! 🙂

Well, maybe I can change my view from indifferent to accepting. They are still a human-being, and people on Earth don’t have the right to judge the sins of others. Those people, who judge others, are just close-minded people.

As far as I know, I have no gay nor lesbian friends, but it won’t be a problem if I see one.

– this post is inspired by the article on Jakarta Globe: http://www.thejakartaglobe.com/ltcolumns/venus-mars-homophobia-alive-and-well/441496