about Valentine’s day

This year’s Valentine’s day is on Friday, which (might) means that there will be traffic jam everywhere in Jakarta, in addition to the normal Friday night jam. Since several years ago, it’s become a common thing to celebrate this love day. I don’t, though. I never celebrated Valentine’s day, say it when I was single and when I had a boyfriend, and I don’t celebrate it. There was a time when I used to kind of “celebrate” the day with my girl friends, but it was only an excuse to have a ladies night out and not more than that (at least for me it wasn’t).

Now that I’m single, I have even less reason to celebrate it. I’m not bitter or anything, I just still think that it’s a made up day for businessmen to collect more money.

What’s more ridiculous are those left wing guys who hate Valentine’s day and said that it’s satanic to celebrate the day (face palm to those who still think that way in this kind of era). Even that I don’t celebrate it, I’m pretty indifferent about it. I would be happy to celebrate it when someone asks me to (well, an excuse for me to get some love) but I won’t be upset if nobody does.

I’m totally fine with the celebration, I’m just sick with all the chocolate, flowers, dolls, and so on and so forth. I just don’t like that kind of gifts – the one crafted so neatly as if other days are not as important as Valentine’s day in term of sharing the love. About loving, I have this priority:

  1. Family
  2. Boyfriend
  3. Best friends
  4. Good friends
  5. Friends
  6. Others with great need of help

Spread the love, not only on Valentine’s day, but everyday…

Leave a Reply

