Si Parasit Lajang by Ayu Utami

ImageLately I’ve been back to the crazy old hobby of reading novels. When it comes to novels in Bahasa Indonesia, I can even finish one book in less than 6 hours. 😀 (It doesn’t apply to English books though, as I get tired easily reading those.) This hobby has been abandoned for quite some time (read: during my stay in Aussie, due to the high price of books *oh damn, there was no cheap books and shipping books from any other side of the world, namely USA and UK, is sometimes more expensive than the book itself* and the joyous high Internet speed *so I’d prefer watching drama/TV series online*), I’d almost forgotten how it feels like to read good books. Well, I don’t read useful books (as my sister says) like psychology or motivational books; I prefer reading those cheesy romance novels instead.

Image

I used to budget some amount of money every month to buy books, but that’s another story since I don’t do that anymore. The book prices are too various in range now, not to mention the books themselves. It’s been quite hard to pick good books up at the bookstores because of the so many writers and publishers nowadays. (That, regardless of the fact that even the biggest chain bookstore is in the middle of crisis due to the ever decreasing interest of reading books.)

ImageThe latest impressive book that I read was “Si Parasit Lajang” (or translated to: The Single Parasite) by Ayu Utami. I’ve read her other book before, but that was classified as “literature” which was really tiring to follow. This one is more of an autobiography, part of a trilogy. The single parasite is a Japanese term for a 30-something single woman still living in her parents’ house, free of the obligation of paying bills and doing house works. This woman, Ayu herself, decided not to get married in her late 20s and, living in the country where people are glorifying marriage, had to answer people’s confusion about her decision. The novel was a compilation of Ayu’s articles from various local magazines, with some hand-drawn illustrations added. Her straight-to-the-point style is of course controversial, but that’s the interesting point to continue reading page through page. I’ll definitely buy the second and third novels of this series.

Leave a Reply

