about social animals

Back in my elementary years, in the social studies the teachers (yes, it’s mentioned almost every year) would tell us: human is by nature a social animal. Thus comes the theory that man can’t live alone, that he always needs others in order to live.

As I grew older, I realize that the term “social” is way too gentle to describe one’s relationship with others. I guess that’s why it’s followed by the word “animal” in the first place, to add the wildness to human nature. Politics is the easiest example to that. Not only applicable to the people who run the countries, politics is also applicable to everyone outside of homes (and families, maybe, for those who are really close to their families). Adults have their own needs and in order to achieve their desire, they will do anything, including involving themselves in politics. The war of needs.

I go to work by bus everyday, and there’s always a big chance that I will see the same people everyday, who go from the same shelter, to the same shelter, every single day. I never know their names, or what they do for a living, but I know that we will meet again tomorrow, and the day after, until one of us resigns from what we’re doing at that place. In the bus, even if we don’t know each other, we will compete to get a seat. It’s as if we’re gonna die if we stand and hang in there for too long. Even in the bus there’s politics.

Image

one of the most tragical moments in the bus: a pregnant woman not getting seats from anyone because ppl just don’t care 😦

Can you imagine if we know each other? Then day by day talks become a friendship.. which leads us to a more peace situation. There will be no war for seats, there’ll only be us excusing each other for those seats. It never goes that way, though.. humans are social animals, which end up not to be so social because we have our own interests.

I’m trying to be the person who’s bringing peace to people around me. I’m not naive, just being nice. Maybe I’m not going to get to know those people from the bus, but at least I’ll give my seats for those who need it more than I do. Hopefully I’ll be successful in my mission. 🙂

Leave a Reply

