idol

Every person has their own thought about the word “idol”. For me, it depends on my age. Some people might have the same idol their whole life, but most people will decide their idol based on their psychological state, just like me. 😛 [This is my way of calling myself “normal”.]

When I was in elementary school, I used to always idolize older girls. They always looked cool to me. First years of elementary school, I idolized this new, young teacher who seemed to be so patient and has a soft voice when speaking to the students. Later, still in elementary school, I idolized my female seniors who were in the “clique” and set the trend and everything. I remember whining to my mom once [or more :P], begging her to buy me an exact pair of shoes my senior wore. They were a pair of beautiful high-heel shoes, which I only wore 2-3 times and ended up in the shoe rack until the leather became chapped everywhere. Waste of money..

Later when I was in secondary school, I idolized these boybands. Call Westlife, Backstreet Boys, Boyzone, 911, A1, Blue.. I knew all the personals’ names and age, I bought all magazines with their posters and pin-ups as the bonus. My favorite boyband was Westlife [I still like and remember the lyrics of their songs up until now. :P]–it’s actually normal, remembering that they were the most famous one back in the beginning of 2000–and I bought their albums [still in cassettes, but yeah! :D].

I also love reading very much that I read some novels about girls boarding school and how they always had this midnight parties in their rooms. My friendship with my best friends was actually trying to imitate the events from those novels at first. We also had this “communication book”, also inspired by the novels. However, thank God our friendship is still strong until today. Hopefully until forever. 🙂 Well, the characters from those novels were my idols, even though they’re not real and never real.

Back in high school, I went to a girls’ school. We didn’t really care about guys, but it was a trend to idolize a handsome guy or two then. I didn’t really like one particular guy, but I watched a lot of series with cute guys. As long as I was still watching the series, I would fall in love with the character and think that the main character was handsome, but after I finished watching, I’d felt nothing special anymore about that guy. That’s it.

Since I was in uni until now, I became more real. At this moment, I idolize my own parents for they have always been and will always be the best parents for my sister and me. 🙂 Other than that, I also like several cute guys from the movies and some decent people with great character which story might inspire me to become a better person.

However, as a human, I think it’s normal to have an idol. We tend to impersonate others, and by having an idol, we know who to impersonate. Just make sure you don’t have a mafia or GTA characters as an idol. ;P

Leave a Reply

